Ford driver seeking Renault advice

zestyfesty

Greetings- I'm an outsider! I've been intrigued by the RS Meganes and Clios for years. I've recently participated in some low-level motorsport events and I'm just learning the ropes about driving technique and car control. My current car is ideal to learn how to drive properly, an 09 manual zetec fiesta which is a sweet little car with nicely sorted chassis and suspension. But I'm going to succumb to an RS car in the near future as I chase a bigger hit!

I have a particular penchant for the Clio 182 Cup and the Megane 225 Cup.

My requirements are

-a vehicle that's liveable as a daily commuter (we're a 1 car family) Rarely carries more than 2 people.

-competent as an occasional track day/tarmac rally car

-I love small, light well-sorted cars

-I lust after the Megane but fear it will be too heavy for my Clio 1000kg tendencies?

-$25k budget.

Does anyone own both these cars - or driven both? I'd love to know your impressions on the driving experience both on road and track, to better inform my decision

Merci

Jim

Howdy Jim

The 182 is a cracking car, and best suited for chasing class victories. The Megane is faster outright, but struggles in it's own division (usually up against far more tuneable japs).

As an everyday proposition, however, the tables turn. The Megane is easier to live with, more spacious, quieter and generally more civilised.

I have had the honour of owning both, and the family has a 172Ph2 and a 225Ph1 Cup in the garage. Best of both worlds (also see Dansa's Two Ph1 thread :wink: )

I have a 182, a friend with a Fiesta Zetec with Konis and have driven several Meganes. The 182 is like a more rapid, more hyperactive Fiesta with more creaks in the cabin. Much as I enjoy the Fiesta and its remarkable abilities the Clio is a whole step up for entertainment and involvement.