Got bitten by the RS Bug!!

daleperrin

Hey Everyone,

Another Newbie here! I just wanted to introduce myself, my name is Dale, aka AGP33, and this is my story of the last few months!

I'd been driving around in my Mazda 6 Classic Sport, which is actually a very good car, and in my previous carnation of an owner/builder I used the poor thing more like a truck than the car it really was! However my job lacked direction and my car lacked the oomph that I really wanted, so like all true petrol heads, I turned up the automotive reading.

I started looking for both a new job and a new car, something that was going to excite me! Now while the job hunting wasn't going as well as I'd hoped, the search for a new beast certainly was going down a quickly narrowing path. Everything I read said that the Renault Megane RS250 was the best bang for your buck under $100k! I read with much enthusiasm reviews pitting it against everything such as the Volkswagen Scirocco R and of course the Subaru WRX. I felt that a V8 Commodore wasn't for me, and the WRX and EVO were too common and didn't have the WOW factor anymore (not to mention their skyrocketing prices when you looked at the half reasonable versions of them), so it came down to two, the RS250 or the Scirocco R. Now when I drove the two, well they were poles apart despite their almost identical performance figures (Btw who puts an Auto in a performance car??!). A 9-month waiting list for the Scirocco R put it out of the question, but was I being too frivolous getting the RS250??!