New Clio 172 in Sydney!

Godspeed

Hey guys,

My name is Matt and I'm the new owner of an '02 RS Clio 172! I'm also new to the world of Renault... :D

I haven't had a chance to really push the little Clio just yet but so far it is living up to the hype and I'm loving it. :hyper: I also drive a Nissan R33 GT-R which I've had for nearly 5 years now, and during that time have had two Corollas as runabouts. The most recent one was a 2000 Ascent which admittedly only had 40,000km on it, but frankly I was stunned at what else could be bought for the same money (about $9.5K) - a 2002 Renault Clio 172 with FSH and only 54,000km. I promptly bought the little Renault and now the Corrie will be for sale!

The handling and power are things I expected from the Clio, but I'm also amazed at the value in other areas like the xenons, auto wipers, four airbags and fantastic alcantara / leather seats.

Looking forward to getting to know you guys (and the car) better, and learning lots.

The only gripe I've got so far is that the clutch pedal is a little "sticky" on the way back up, making taking off from a standstill smoothly in traffic a little difficult.

RSClio1b.jpg

Cheers,

Matt

Welcome to the forums, and enjoy the car!

You'll get used to the clutch eventually, there's not much you can do with that stickyness because they're a cable clutch. Mine got freshly lubed up and was still sticky.

Welcome! Good choice on the 172 8)

The 172 is well known for a tricky clutch with a high take up point. If you're saying it's sticky I'm inclined to think it might need a re-lube, though for some that doesn't seen to do it.

I think the only real cure is to install a new clutch cable, which is from a 182, and much improved over the 172. You can buy one from Wolf & have a go at installing yourself or else get it fitted at your next service.

Enjoy the forum & get along to a social event. How'd you find us BTW?

Oh & pics of the GT-R? 8)