Buying a used Megane RS 250/265

BenB

Hi Everyone,

First of all I would like to thank all the forum members for their inputs. This forum has helped me gain good knowledge about Megane RSes.

Since last few months, I have been planning to reward myself with a hot hatch, never owned one before.  I previously owned a manual 2005 Honda Accord Euro CL9 and really liked the handling. However, when I felt the need to switch to an automatic due to daily 30km drive to work during peak hours, I sold it. Currently driving an auto SUV but I really miss driving a manual that had so much better handling. I have been working from home since last few years and don't need to drive daily in the peak traffic. Therefore, I have been researching hot hatches for the past 2-3 months. I initially looked at Golf GTI Mk6/7 and Ford Focus ST but later found out about Megane RS. I was really impressed with online reviews and have decided to buy a Megane RS  250/265 around $15k.

I have come across two of them which I really like. First one is 2012 RS 265 RB7. Looks like the owner has taken good care of it mechanically but cosmetically it has some issues such as clear coat peeling on the rear spoiler and stone chips on the windshield.

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2012-renault-megane-r-s-265-red-bull-manual/SSE-AD-15799782/?Cr=0

The second one is 2011 RS 250 Cup Trophee. This is through a dealer in Brisbane. The car seems very well maintained cosmetically but I am not sure about the mechanical aspect.

https://www.864cars.com.au/stock/2011-renault-megane-3dhatchback-renaultsport250cuptrophee-x95-364947

Which one would you choose? Both are including the RWC.

I am located in Melbourne but both the cars are in Queensland. So, I am thinking of flying there and driving back to Melbourne in 2 days. Has anyone done that or do you think it is better to get them transported through CEVA?

Thanks for your suggestions.