RS 265 Models Explained

Twalis

Hi All

I'm looking into buying a Megan RS 265 - and the more and more I read/watch about it the more hooked I am. I used to be a WRX driver but sold the car to be a family man, but just can't drive boring cars any more - Dad needs more fun on the work commute

One thing I'm finding difficult though is to understand all the differences in the different models. What you give up vs. what you get from model to model

For example I though the Trophy was one of the top models but just reading an article about the Trophy and its says

"Under the bonnet it’s identical  to other RS 265s, but it misses out on some of the special RS electronics and trickery of the Cup models."

I thought the Cup was the base model in the 265?

Is there a thread on this forum that goes through the differences on each model?

Appreciate any guidance on this one guys.

Twalis

Hi and welcome

Firstly don't expect to get an understanding of what the differences are. Go and spend your time getting a degree in something useful. I swear the pre facelift (manufactured prior to July 2014) nomenclature was stupid and confusing. And annoying.

What you need to know:

Every Australian 265 bar the "limited edition" or L.E. which had silver 18" wheels and cloth recaros (eg this one:

https://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/Renault-Megane-2013/OAG-AD-15226879) have what you want - LSD, cup chassis etc. I suspect you were reading a UK article where they regularly had models without LSD and cup chassis/suspension.

If you want a cheap and reliable one without all the fruit, just get a cup. If you want everything the trophy+ came with it. If you want all the fruit plus the upgraded RS monitor then the RB8 is your car.

What I'd recommend is you post up some cars that are in your price range and we can comment on them.

Just off the top of my head these are the variants:

Limited edition

Cup

Cup+

Trophy

Trophy+

RB7

RB8

And probably one or two others!

• Like 1