Hello from a new newbie

rsclio197

Hi,

I hope I'm doing this right lol I am very new to Renault, so new I haven't bought a car yet but from my user name you can guess my area or vehicle of interest. I have been a hot hatch (with sensible upgrades) driver for years and have enjoyed my time with it, but life's short and it's time to live the dream and upgrade my garage. :)

I will say finding a good RS 197 is a hard task. I hope if I do that it gives me as much or more joy for years to come.

I'm also here to learn about the ins and outs of the RS 197. I've heard about 3rd and 4th gear issues, bad steering wheel and gear knob leather and also seats wearing quickly but almost all of that is easy fix. The gearing and people servicing the timing belt, accessory belts and water pump.. What's the go with these items? It's probably not the right area to ask such questions so please forgive me and or direct me to the appropriate areas..

Either way if I end up with one, then I look forward to joining some events and driving some lovely black top.

:nod::hyper::dance:

I'd say it's more of a matter of when and not if :)

The crunchy gears are less of an issue here compared to overseas. In saying that a couple from here have had that issue.

Belts from memory are every 4 years or 50 000kms, which ever comes first.

Really it all comes down to maintenance. Do you service your cars or will you take to a shop for servicing?

Where are you based? Sydney has 2 great places for RS servicing

Hi Numbnut and Apple.

I'd say it's more of a matter of when and not if :)

Fingers crossed it's when and not if Numbnut

Have you driven one yet?

Yes I have. I've driven a couple and I am impressed. Just as much confidence in it as my hot hatch but I am sure it has higher limits :)

The crunchy gears are less of an issue here compared to overseas. In saying that a couple from here have had that issue.