Eyeing the Clio

Azz

Hello,

First of all I've already spent a couple hours reading this forum and its awesome!

I'm a uni student in Sydney, currently on my Ps and driving a N16 pulsar. I've had the pulsar for almost a year now, its been a good first car, however its not really exciting me anymore. My friend recently bought a manual and he's been raving to me about how fun they are. I'm a fan of small cars and along my search for an exciting good value small car I came across the RS clio. Something about it has me hooked and everything else pales in comparison in terms of appeal and bang for buck.

My main concern at the moment is how there are aren't really that many to choose from for sale, especially low km examples. Are they always this scarce? Although I can understand why many people wouldn't want to sell them from what I hear about them!

I understand that maintaining a car like this is going to be a bit more costly than my pulsar, but are they generally reliable? Being new to cars overall (and a uni student), I'm also a bit nervous about it being European as it may be a lot more expensive for parts/servicing than I'm anticipating. I have a feeling even after buying the car I'll need to be careful with my cash.

Besides from these concerns I'm pretty convinced this is the car for me :)

Thanks for reading,

Aaron

Maintenance will be expensive if done right, particulary on a Uni student's finances.

Mechanically, they're generally pretty solid, but trim is known to go awry, and rattles do start for no apparent reason.

There are a couple on the forum for sale, and I'd recommend shopping for an enthusiast owned example.

Welcome, by the way!

Welcome mate

Always better to buy one from this club, since you know the seller has taken care of and has had exposure to all the information that this place contains.

It's not so much about the km's on the car as it is about how the car has been cared for.