New Clio 182 Owner In Perth

furiousgibbon

Hi, just thought I'd post an intro. My name's Mark, yesterday I picked up a very nice 2005 Clio 182 from Gezza (member here and at aussiefrogs), and I think I'm in love (with the car :wink:). I've just signed up with my own username but I've been lurking here for a while now under my friend's account.

I've been driving turbo cars for the last 10 years, my current daily is a manual 2014 FPV F6 with a few mods to make it handle properly (coilovers, wider wheels/tyres), prior to that I had a heavily modified XR5 Turbo. I just had a hankering for something pure, small, lightweight, normally aspirated. An Elise 111R was top of my list but to spend that sort of coin on a toy does not compute. Maybe one day. Clio was the sensible choice.

I've been looking for a Clio on an off for a year now since a friend started searching for one (he ended up finding something else). I always thought I'd get a 197, but the 182 is a little less modern, less insulated, more raw and basic, and a hell of a lot cheaper. Plus it just looks bloody cool especially in this colour.

I've put a couple of hundred Ks on this one since yesterday and it's a very solid example and exactly what I was after. Fingers crossed it'll be solid for a while, but I don't mind spending money on a car that I like driving. I don't have any good pics yet, just washed the car and have it in the garage ready for a round of paint correction with a DAS6 Pro (which will probably take me all weekend), new tint going on next week (bolle blue which I've had before and it's sweet on a blue car) and wheel refurb (which I'll try myself, then hand it to a pro if I fail). Once it's sorted I'll take some better pics of it.