Newbie Looking For Advise On Rs Model 250/65

Smoalex

Newbie here,

I've only just started looking for a Renault Sport model car in the last week or so, actually went and had a look at my first RS250 yesterday and fell in love with the car. the model I saw was a 2011 with 70K on the odometer, RS yellow with 265 rims had a few small dints on the roof. I was surprised how cheap some of the cars are for sale on Car Sales & Gumtree being 2011 models and above. 

I have done some research on problems and cant find much other than one guy saying he had an engine mount that had broken and another guy saying he had some tyre wear and a sore jaw from grinning too much. I'm sure I'm in the right place to ask, 'What long term reliability problems are there and what would you guys/girls look for when purchasing a RS250 or 265?" 

Feel free to throw thoughts of models & whatever comes to mind that may be useful to me.

BTW i'm looking at spending anywhere fro 20k - 25k.

Thanks,

Alex!

post-22159-0-04230300-1474692265_thumb.jpg

Hi and welcome!

I've got an rs265 trophy+, no issues, I've had it for about 2 years now

I've been on the forum since before then and the only real issue has been a couple people having problems with clutch wear. In regards to numbers it's very low - best to have a nice feel of the great box and clutch etc when test driving. I don't really know enough about the mechanics behind it to make much of a comment

Otherwise it's only bits and pieces like the rubber lining "rabbit ear"-ing at the tail end of the rear windows. Maybe some issues with the radio, but basically nothing.

The body work/panels don't seem to fit that great, which was something I used to care about until i bought one!!

Just bear in mind there are 2013 and pre-facelift 2014 models that were sold after July 2014 which come with 5 year warranty (well, the balance of it now) so it's worth asking about this. I only just found out that my warranty doesn't expire until 2019! Amazing ...